four walls, no walls, you and me.


Over my head
April 30, 2007, 12:18 am
Filed under: Uncategorized

I think I may have rushed into this too quickly. I can hardly manage my gmail account much less this. Pictures, tags, slugs, rolls, what does all of this mean?

On another note, I went to the library last week (actually, I go almost every other day, I am such a nerd…) and happened upon a lovely little blue hardcover titled “Forgotten Children’s Books.” It contained some rather extraordinary etchings, intaglio and block prints and a drawing or two that are original to the stories and proverbs. I borrowed it in hopes that these aged tales would provide a mild amusement, but to my suprise, they were quite dull. I suppose I was expecting a sort of satire but instead found joy in its simplicity.

Lately this has been a recurring theme. Finding the most truth at the the most basic level. I suppose my brain has had enough of the exegetical approach for now and is finding rest in the simple things. I only hope this train of thought can sustain me long enough to deliver me safely into adulthood.

Also on my reading list:
The Way of the Pilgrim and the Pilgrim Continues His Way. Highly recommend! It is essential reading for any person of faith, especially in the 21st century!
Jean Cocteau: a Bigraphy. If you are interested in the art and work of Jean Cocteau, then I would recommend this. If not, skip it.
Three Treatises on the Divine Images. If you took Senior Sem or Art & Tech (sans tech!) and liked it, this may interest you. It is St. John of Damascus’ defense of icons in the age of Iconoclasm.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

