four walls, no walls, you and me.


Artcrush
September 15, 2009, 1:58 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

Yesterday I dragged my sorry self to LACMA despite the fact that I had been awake since 3:30 AM and completely exhausted. Why? To attend a panel discussion with Guerrilla Girls and Young Hae Chang Heavy Industries. Young Hae was M.I.A. but sent a message to those of us in attendance which was quite fun and funny and YHC Heavy Ind. also premiered a new work, which I liked a lot. The conversation revolved mostly around collaboration, anonymity, and politics and how that plays into their art. It was an awesome lecture and I left with a lot of things to think about.

I also realized that I become a total rambling idiot when it comes to speaking with artists that I completely and utterly admire. I got a chance to talk to both artists and was totally starstruck. Here’s a pic.

IMGP1417 - Copy

I didn’t get a pic with Marc Voge, the other half of Young Hae Chang Heavy Industries which was a bummer but he was so charming during the discussion and so nice when I talked to him afterward, I totally have an Art Crush on him now. I’m sure if Young Hae were there I would have an Art Crush on her too!

I’m super excited about the upcoming Baldassari talk next week and I can barely contain myself for BARBARA KRUEGER in October!

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

artcrushin’!!!!!

Comment by liz

I’m super jealous of you. and yeah, damn damien hirts

Comment by sumbum




Leave a Reply

