four walls, no walls, you and me.


the scent of fall
October 19, 2009, 11:45 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

So I haven’t really gotten used to this Indian Summer thing yet and it is very strange and more than a little disorienting to be in the middle of October and still have days that are in the upper 70’s or low 80’s. I mean, I know it’s California but I really do covet the autumn months, however short they may be. I keep hoping that tomorrow will feel more like fall and less like summer but this week has been so schizo weather-wise I don’t really know which way it’s going to turn. The news says that later this week can get as high as 90 which is so disappointing. One ray of hope however, is the 3.4 oz of awesome housed in the simple glass bottle of perfume I bought today. 

I usually NEVER buy a perfume unsniffed but on a whim I bought a bottle of Badgely Mischka’s signature perfume. My friend Alice had a bottle of their limited edition 2007 Fleurs de Nuit which I liked a lot so I knew I could expect something in the same family. WOW. I absolutely love this perfume and REALLY lucked out since buying a perfume unsniffed is not only a huge risk, but also a lot of money. 😛 I loved the FdN scent and thought it was perfect for the summer since it was so light. However, fall calls for something with a little more weight, a little more substance. This perfume definitely fits the bill. It is such an elegant and luxurious scent, evocative of how silk feels against the skin, or how tall heels can change your entire outlook. 

This summer I’ve been wearing a lot of M by Masaki Matshushima and Moroccan Rose by Body Shop (which is not only an absolutely lovely rose scent but also a steal at $25 for 50ml, I’m already on my second bottle!) which is great but after 6 months I am ready for a change. Badgeley Mischka’s perfume is the total opposite of my summer scents in the feeling it evokes. Some of my fave fall scents have been Coco Mademoiselle by Chanel,  Pink Jasmine by Fresh, and one of my all time faves Philosykos by Diptyque but none of them have ever evoked the essence of fall the way this perfume does. The top notes are a nice blend of floral and fruity which definitely drew me in. There is noticeably less floral elements as you get toward the middle and especially base notes, giving way to a more subtle, woodsy scent. 

If it wasn’t already obvious, I really like perfume. A good perfume can change your mood, make you feel like a million bucks, prepare you for the day ahead. I was already pretty ansty for fall to arrive (and stay!) and now I can’t wait even more. I usually have a few different perfumes I rotate and switch between for each season and also depending on what mood I’m in on a particular day but I have a feeling that this fall I might stick with just this one! I’m not much of a subscriber of the “signature scent” but I do have a few perfumes I love more than most and this I anticipate being one of them.

NM-0S0B_mpAvailable at Bergdorf Goodman, Saks, Nordstrom and various other online retailers. $45-90.

3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

The power of perfume is intoxicating. Have you ever read the book or seen the movie, Perfume? Its really good.

I love perfumes but moreso than that…I love men’s cologne. I’d forsake god for a good cologne. Trust me.

Comment by Sheena L Young

I have seen the movie perfume. I think I liked it more than I should have b/c I like perfumes so much, because the movie itself was kinda meh. don’t even get me started on men’s cologne. I will literally not want to be someone’s friend if they wear bad cologne. I think the M by masaki is a unisex scent actually…..I wonder if that says something about me!

Comment by jantirak

nice…!

Comment by hanna




Leave a Reply

